Monday 1st August 2016

Well, here we are. The final day before the end of the 250 mile Challenge.  I know I have said this before, but I have such mixed emotions about tomorrow. My body is desperate for a rest, but my head and heart just don’t want it to end.

I apologise in advance if I cry. Not only have I experienced support and love on a level I could never have imagined, I am so touched by the amount of effort others have gone to, to help this dream of mine become a reality. I set out wanting to help these deaf children have a better life experience. That still is my ultimate purpose.

The more that people have responded to my crazy enthusiasm, the more it has driven me to keep going and to try harder, and to keep swimming. It has taken me exactly 12 months. 52 weeks. 250 miles. Doncaster to Edinburgh.

Tomorrow I swim my final few lengths. I will share the end of this with my hero, Justin Osmond; the man who inspired me in the first place, to believe this was possible. To have Merrill there too just means more than I can express. Whatever would my 15 year old me have said, as I screamed as loud as the best of them during that first Earls Court concert back in 1975?! Never would I have ever thought that it would come to this.

Tomorrow will be a special day. A truly happy day. There are family and friends travelling miles to share this with me. I love these people. For some reason they believe in me. How blessed am I?

Time to get some sleep now …. tomorrow is going to be one to remember. God bless.

 

2 Comments

  1. What an amazing journey Linda, you have inspired & impressed so many people with your drive & determination. You truly are a wonderful person, I’m so proud of you I could burst. When I think of the lady who came into my Slimming World 2 years ago, a little bit hesitant, unsure if it would work, to watch you be so very successful, to start to believe, to reach your target weight & BEFORE you’d done that to embark on what seemed an enormous challenge to swim to Edinburgh in a year, to raise £2,500 but look at you!!! You’ve blossomed & bloomed, you’ve taken that challenge & smashed it! I often joke that when you lost weight you grew gills 😊 Your fund raising has been phenomenal, you’ve been tireless with your ideas& your promotions & I’m so in awe of that! It will be an emotional day as you come to the end of this chapter, the culmination of a tear of hard work but I know you’ve a busy week to keep you on a high. Let’s meet for coffee when it all dies down & talk about your favourite bits & what you’re going to do next…. Well done my lovely absolutely well done xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

