Thursday 26 May 2016

I had an opportunity to have an early morning swim this morning. I then went back at lunch time. In total, two more miles done today. Mile 197 and 198 complete. On track to swim Mile 200 on Saturday morning!! I’m excited 🙂

St JamesI was messaged this morning by an old pupil of mine on the Looking Back at Doncaster Facebook page. This picture of St James pool which is now closed, was posted.  It brought back great memories of my very first teaching post there in 1992.  I was privileged to be the very last teacher to have a class there in 2013, before some serious structural damage was discovered.  It’s a Grade 11 listed building and can’t be demolished so sadly it remains closed till a decision is made on what to do next. It was built in 1932 and has one of the country’s last remaining Turkish Baths downstairs. Many of the town’s residents have happy memories of the Beatles performing there in 1962! They used to cover the pool for concerts, and the place where this picture is taken from, is at the stage end.

For those who are seeing some information about my Swim a Mile week in June, more exact details are to be published soon. If you would like to register your interest, my email address is lindacarlo@outlook.com. I would love to hear from you, especially if I have taught you to swim in the past 24 years 🙂

Finally, my JustGiving page has been extended past the original 100 days. The agreement was they would transfer any funds raised so far to the Hearing Fund UK.  This has brought my Page 2 back to zero. My current total fundraised is £1793.  If anyone would be kind enough to add a donation to it to get this page off the ground, I would be very grateful 🙂 Thank you.

https://crowdfunding.justgiving.com/linda-carlo

3 Comments

  1. Nearly there lass, right behind you! Pushing you through Scotland from Northumberland.
    Im cheering you all the way up North….
    Xxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

