Thursday 10th March 2016

One You

On Monday morning I woke up to the sound of our clock radio tuned into BBC Radio 4 Today programme. I became much more alert when I heard the news item about how Public Health England has just launched a ‘One You’ Campaign. It said that ‘living healthily in midlife can double your chances of being healthy at 70 and beyond.

I was very excited to hear this because of the changes I’ve made in the past 21 months. This morning I followed this up online to check further information given in the programme and I found the One You link which gives more details.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/phe-launches-one-you

It’s a very interesting read. I noticed in the article that the Campaign has new public and commercial partnerships with BBC Get Inspired and Slimming World, amongst others. Wonderful!  Everyone knows how much I love Slimming World 🙂  I decided to check out the BBC Get Inspired page, and again, found this to be really interesting, especially on the Swimming page.

.http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/get-inspired/23164764

bbc one logoNow you know with me, how one thing leads to another, and I realised that if the BBC are supporting this Campaign, then perhaps something like The One Show might be interested in what I’m doing, because it’s a very current topic.  As I have been invited to meet with the ‘powers that be’ in DCLT next week to discuss plans of how to make my ideas a reality, then perhaps the BBC would like to follow this incentive too.

I believe in miracles, so you never know …. 😉 I have contacted them this morning so we shall see.

One Show logo

 

I’m back in the pool tonight where I will swim my 145th mile.  As for the fundraising, my current total is £1,104, which is wonderful.  However, this means that I still need to raise   £146 to be at my half way goal of £1,250 by next Tuesday 15th March . I set this short term goal because I like challenges, and great things happen when we aim high 🙂 Please come back on Tuesday and see if I managed to do it.  I am very optimistic about reaching this target by then.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

